Activities

 

VISITS

Les Baux de Provence

Located in southern France, in the province of Provence, Baux de Provence has a spectacular position in the Alpilles mountains, set atop a rocky outcrop crowned with a ruined castle overlooking the plains to the South. It’s name refers to its position; in Provençal, a baou is a rocky spur.

One of the most beautiful villages in France, it sees more than 1.5 million visitors per year. Overlooking the stunning scenery of Arles, the Camargue and the Alpilles, the views are positively breathtaking.

Saint Rémy de Provence

The village of Saint Rémy is located within 10km from the hotel.

Saint-Remy de Provence is a charming Roman city of the Renaissance, a city of painters and writers. One of the oldest cities in France, remains have been found dating back to the first millennium BC.

It was under Roman imperial rule that the city really took off, and the city has retained many sites of significance from this period, including the site of Glanum. This ancient site is one of the largest in France, with the central monument, forum, basilica and curia excavated.

Arles

Less than 20 km from the Mas Foucray is the town of Arles.

Originally a Celtic dwelling place colonized by the Greeks, Arles became Roman following Caesar’s rule in 46 BC where many of his legions veterans settled. This was the golden age of the “Little Rome of Gaul” and the town became a great religious center of the early days of Christianity. Ruined and devastated by the invasions of the Middle Ages, the city was rebuilt during the twelfth century and the splendor of its medieval monuments attests to the vitality and richness of this era.

The seventeenth and eighteenth centuries saw the construction of numerous mansions, which still hold the charm of the village. With several monuments, this town holds visible evidence of over 2000 years of history. Since 1981 all Roman and Romanesque monuments are classified by UNESCO as World Heritage sites and Arles remains today a city of art and history.

Avignon

About thirty kilometers away lies the beautiful city of Avignon.

Nicknamed the”City of Popes” or “Altera Roma”, Avignon has retained it’s history as a town that was for quite some time known as the capital of the medieval West. Today it is a cultural capital, home of the internationally known Theatre Festival.

Whilst in Avignon, you can visit the Palais des Papes and the St Benezet bridge, classified as a UNESCO World Heritage site. Also nearby are the Musée du Petit Palais, Musée Angladon, Palais du Roure, and Jean Vilar Lamaison. On the other bank of the Rhone, there are a number of monuments to see, such as the Certosa, Philippe le Bel Tower, the Fort and St Andrew’s Abbey.

Les Alpilles

The Alpilles have been protected within the Regional Natural Park of the Alpilles since July 2006. There are very few people living within this massive area, however there are some villages to be visited, with their famous Roman ruins and Summer festivals.

The Alpilles mountain range comprises the villages of: Saint-Rémy-de-Provence on the North Slope, Les Baux de Provence in the South, a museum and a Romanesque chapel at Eygalières, in the Northeast. The Alphonse Daudet Museum, found in Fontvieille is a reconstruction of a famous windmill on a massive prominence on a road linking with Arles.

Other attractions include various other museums, including a museum of figurines, as well as the towns of Maussane, Mouriès and Aureille. All these villages have preserved their authenticity and make wonderful places to stop and relax.

La Camargue

The Mas Foucray is near the National Reserve of the Camargue and is one hours from Saintes Maries de la Mer.

The Camargue is a site of national importance for local birds, particularly for migratory and wintering birds. Between 2000-2005 this area held the largest number of winter visiting birds in France (122 000 birds, before the Arcachon Basin that hosts 105,000).

The Camargue is also known its flamingoes. The botanical and oological reserve was created in 1928 with a mandate to promote the breed of Camargue horses.

Among the most famous sites include Le Grau du Roi, Aigues-Mortes and Les Saintes Maries de la Mer, not forgetting the beautiful sandy beaches of course.

Le Pont du Gard

Forty miles from the hotel is one of the masterpieces of Roman architecture that is the Pont du Gard, beautifully integrated in a natural setting that has kept its wild charm, the Pont du Gard fascinates each of its visitors with its elegance and majesty.

Two millennia after its construction, this ancient building is still a true masterpiece, both for its technical prowess and for its simple beauty. It spans the Gardon and ensures the continuity of the Roman aqueduct that carried water from Uzes to Nimes.

This monument has been a World Heritage site since 1985. It attracts 1.5 million visitors a year and is the second most visited provincial monument after Mont-Saint-Michel.

Le Lubéron

The Mas Foucray is 1 hour drive away from the village of Gordes in the Luberon. Gordes is a beautiful hilltop village built into the rockface.

Walking through the village streets, you will discover all of its splendor and history. The village of Gordes is classified as one of the most beautiful most beautiful villages in France, alongside Lourmarin, Roussillon and Ménerbes.

Luberon, a land both green and wild with its Regional Natural Park amongst the hills is surrounded by famous vineyards and is steeped in history with its many villages.

ACTIVITIES

Museums and festivals in Provence

Festivals in Saint Rémy

  • Wine and Arts & Crafts festival – last weekend of July
  • Saint Rémy Artist festival
  • Fête de la transhumance
  • Féria
  • Grand marché provençal
  • Carreto Ramado

Festivals in Baux

  • Baux Medieval festival

Festivals in Maussane

  • Place aux arts
  • Fête de la Saint Eloi

Festivals in Arles

  • Les feux de la Saint-Jean
  • La Pegoulado
  • La fête du Costume
  • Feria du riz
  • Easter Feria

Golf

Two golf 18 holes welcome you unless 8km of the Mas. The golf of Manville in Les Baux de Provence and the golf of Servanes in Mouriès. Our customers benefit from a special rate.

Horseback riding

Many clubs offer outings around the region, through the Alpilles and of course in Camargue.

Tennis

Less than 2km away in Maussane.

Activités

VISITES

Les Baux de Provence

Les Baux sont aujourd’hui principalement un site touristique avant d’être un lieu de vie. Ils sont un des plus beaux villages de France et accueillent plus d’un million et demi de visiteurs par an. 22 habitants vivent encore dans l’enceinte des Baux, la partie haute du village et 381 habitants pour toute la commune.

Le village des Baux de Provence est situé au coeur des Alpilles sur un plateau rocheux à 245m. Il domine des paysages exceptionnels sur Arles, la Camargue et les Alpilles et vous offre des panoramas à vous couper le souffle. Cette immense et superbe forteresse de pierre est sans conteste un des must de la Provence !

Saint Rémy de Provence

Le village de Saint Rémy est situé à moins de 10 km de l’hôtel.

Ville romaine, ville de la Renaissance, ville de peintres et d’écrivains, Saint-Rémy-de-Provence est la ville de charme par excellence. Saint-Rémy-de-Provence est l’une des plus anciennes villes de France : on y a retrouvé des vestiges datant du premier millénaire avant J-C. Mais c’est sous la domination impériale romaine que la ville prend véritablement son essor.

De cette période, la ville a conservé de nombreux vestiges et notamment le site de Glanum. Ce site antique est l’un des plus importants de France, on peut encore y voir ou y deviner un centre monumental avec son forum, une basilique et sa curie.

Arles

A moins de 20 Km du Mas Foucray se trouve la ville d’Arles.

Lieu d’habitat celte, colonisé par les grecs, Arles devient romaine par la grâce de César qui y implante en 46 av. JC les vétérans de ses légions. C’est le premier âge d’or de la « petite Rome des Gaules » qui sera un grand centre religieux des premiers temps de la Chrétienté. Ruinée et meurtrie par les invasions du haut Moyen Age, la ville renaît au XIIe siècle et la splendeur de ses monuments médiévaux témoigne de la vitalité et de la richesse de cette époque.

Les XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles voient la construction d’innombrables hôtels particuliers qui font, aujourd’hui encore, le charme du centre ancien, où sont regroupés plusieurs monuments classés, héritage de 2000 ans d’histoire. Depuis 1981 l’ensemble des monuments romains et romans sont classés par l’UNESCO au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité et Arles est aujourd’hui Ville d’art et d’Histoire

Avignon

A une trentaine de kilomètres du Mas se trouve la magnifique ville d’Avignon.

Surnommée “Cité des Papes” ou “Altera Roma”, Avignon conserve l’empreinte inaltérable du séjour des Papes dans la ville qui fut pendant quelques temps la capitale de l’Occident médiéval. Elle est aujourd’hui une capitale culturelle rayonnante avec son Festival de Théâtre reconnu mondialement.

Visiter Avignon : le Palais des Papes et le Pont St Bénézet, classés Patrimoine Mondial par l’UNESCO,le Musée du Petit Palais, le Musée Angladon, le Palais du Roure, laMaison Jean Vilar sont tout proches.- Face à Avignon sur l’autre rive du Rhône se situent de nombreux monuments comme la Chartreuse, la Tour Philippe le Bel, le Fort et l’Abbaye Saint-André.

Les Alpilles

Depuis le 13 juillet 2006 les Alpilles sont protégées par la création du Parc naturel régional des Alpilles.

Il y a très peu d’habitants à l’intérieur de ce massif de garrigues. Cependant, quelques villages sont rendus célèbres par des ruines romaines et des festivals d’été. Le Massif des Alpilles comprend de nombreux villages: Saint-Rémy-de-Provence sur le versant nord, Les Baux-de-Provence au sud, un musée et une chapelle romane à Eygalières au nord-est.Le musée d’Alphonse Daudet est installé à Fontvieille dans la reconstitution du célèbre moulin, sur une proéminence liée au massif, sur la route qui mène à Arles.

Divers autres musées dont un musée de santons. Sans oublier Maussane, Mouriès, ou Aureille. Tous ces villages ont su garder leur authenticité, ou l’on prend le temps de vivre et de flâner

La Camargue

Le Mas Foucray est à proximité de la réserve nationale de la Camargue, et à une heure des Saintes Maries de la Mer.

La Camargue est un site d’importance nationale majeure pour les oiseaux locaux, pour les migrateurs et particulièrement pour les hivernants puisqu’il s’agissait en 2000-2005 du premier site français en nombre d’hivernants accueillis chaque année (122 000 oiseaux, devant le Bassin d’Arcachon qui en accueille 105 000).

La Camargue est aussi connue pour accueillir le flamant rose. En 1928 fut créée la réserve botanique et zoologique Les manadiers sont attachés à promouvoir la race du cheval Camargue et l’AOC du Taureau. La riziculture fait partie intégrante de l’agriculture Camarguaise.

Parmi les sites les plus connus on peut citer Le Grau du Roi, Aigues-Mortes et bien sur Les Saintes Maries de la Mer, sans oublier les magnifiques plages de sable fin

Le Pont du Gard

A une quarantaine de kilomètres du Mas se trouve un des chefs d’œuvre de l’architecture romaine qu’est le pont du Gard admirablement intégré au sein d’un site naturel qui a su garder son charme sauvage, le Pont du Gard fascine chacun de ses visiteurs par son élégance et sa majesté.

Deux millénaires après sa construction, cet antique édifice est toujours un véritable chef d’œuvre, tant pour ses prouesses techniques que par sa simple beauté. Il enjambe le Gardon et assure la continuité de l’aqueduc romain qui conduisait l’eau d’Uzès à Nîmes.

Ce monument est inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité depuis 1985. Il attire 1,5 million de visiteurs par an, c’est le 2e monument de province le plus visité après le Mont-Saint-Michel.

Le Lubéron

Le Mas Foucray est à 1 heure de route à peine du village de Gordes dans le Lubéron. Gordes est un magnifique village perché, construit à même la roche.

Vous découvrirez au cours de promenades dans les ruelles du village toute sa splendeur. Le village de Gordes est d’ailleurs classé, tout comme Lourmarin, Ménerbes et Roussillon parmi les plus beaux villages de France.

Le Luberon, pays mythique à la fois verdoyant et sauvage avec le Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon, ses collines, ses vignobles réputés et chargés d’histoire avec ses nombreux villages.

ACTIVITES

Musées et fêtes en Provence

Fêtes de Saint Remy

  • Fêtes du vin et de l’artisanat d’art de Saint Rémy dernier week-end de juillet
  • Fête des artistes de Saint Rémy
  • Fête de la transhumance
  • Féria
  • Grand marché provençal
  • Carreto Ramado

Fêtes des Baux

  • Fête médiévale des Baux

Fête des Maussane

  • Place aux arts
  • Fête de la Saint Eloi

Fête d’Arles

  • Les feux de la Saint-Jean
  • La Pegoulado
  • La fête du Costume
  • Féria du riz
  • Féria de Pâques

Le golf

Deux golfs 18 trous vous accueillent à moins de 8km du Mas. Le golf de Manville aux Baux de Provence et le golf de Servanes à Mouriès. Nos clients bénéficient d’un tarif spécial.

Equitation

De nombreux clubs vous proposent des balades que ce soit dans les Alpilles ou bien sûre en Camargue.

Tennis

Maussane à 2km